Chi Chi Make-up Blending Sponge Review

In my Beauty Wishlist post, which you can read here, I said that I wanted to try a Blending Sponge by Chi Chi. They hadn’t been released in New Zealand last time I looked but when I went into town the other day I saw them.

There are four different sponges in different colours. Each is shaped slightly different so there is something for everyone depending on what you want. I decided on the yellow one.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

So a little bit about the product.  On the box a few things it says is that it’s non-latex and allergy free, to use damp and with a stippling effect. It also says that it will enable you to achieve everything from sheer coverage to buildable full coverage.

It also was $8.99 NZD

What I did and thought. It was quite small when I got it out of the box but when I run and squeezed it under the tap it swelled up a lot. I squeezed out the water then put it in a towel and squeezed again to make sure it wasn’t dripping wet and only damp.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

This is what it looked like once it was damp and sitting next to the plastic packaging it came in.

I primed my face then put dots of foundation on my face. I found the best way to use it was in a patting motion as when I moved the sponge in a downward motion I got streaks in my foundation. I was able to build it up using more foundation off the back of my hand. The pointed end was good for concealing under my eyes as it was smaller and could get there easier. Having to use it in a pressing motion felt a bit different at first as I’m used to using a brush but it soon felt better.

I haven’t used any other beauty sponges like the Real Techniques sponge or the Beauty Blender so I can’t compare this to those but I’m very happy with it. It also didn’t seem to soak up much product which is good.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Here are some photos of before, with foundation and concealer then the rest of my makeup.

Before

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

With foundation and concealer

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

With the rest of my make-up

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

I’m not sure if Chi Chi is sold in other countries other than New Zealand and Australia but I’m pretty sure they ship internationally. You can find their website Here. 

Over all I’m happy with this product and am glad I was able to buy it. I’ve only used it twice so will see how it lasts. They say to wash it in some gentle soap.

Also here is a list of the make-up I used for the finished look. I couldn’t take the best photos of what it looked like on but I just went for a simple quick look.

  • Garnier Perfect Blur 5 sec Smoothing Base Perfector
  • Revlon New Complexion Oil Control Makeup in 02 Buff Chamois
  • Collection Cosmetics Concealer Lasting Perfection in 1 Fair
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 001 Transparent
  • Essence Sun Club Matte Bronzing Powder in 01 Natural, Blondes
  • Nars Blush in Orgasm
  • Chi Chi Eyebrow pencil in Medium I think but the label has worn off.
  • Rimmel London Eyeshadow in 102 Backstage
  • Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara in Very Black
  • Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in 300 Out Of This World

Love, Me

7 thoughts on “Chi Chi Make-up Blending Sponge Review

Leave a Reply

