Healthy snack idea

Happy Friday everyone. A little while ago I was at the supermarket looking at the health food section and found a raw bar. It was dried fruit and nuts made into a bar, like a muesli bar. I got one to try as I am trying to find better snack foods for when I’m craving something sweet. It was really nice but I thought it would be easy to make. I had also tried something similar but in balls. I went to the supermarket and got some stuff to make them and thought I’d share with you what I did. I had made something like this a few years ago but forgot what I used.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

For what you want in it is up to you. I went with dried apricots, dates, a mix of cranberries, almonds, cashews and also found some walnuts in the draw to put in. I decided to add some cocoa powder as well because I wanted it to have a slight chocolate flavour.
You want a selection of dried fruit and nuts, the dried fruit will be what helps it to all stick together so you want more fruit than nuts.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

I blended it all together and found it was easier to do it in small batches. I used a blender but I think a food processor would have been better.

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Photo by Continuing with M.E

Taking some in my hands I pressed it firmly into a ball and put in a container with some glad wrap between the two layers. It made about 31 balls and I have put them into the fridge. You can make less if you want so that there is just enough for what you want that day but I decided to make more as I find it easier having something already made for when I’m not feeling well. I find that they are really sweet and just one or two little balls is enough to satisfy my craving, well most times.

I’d love to know what you think of them if you try them out or if you have made something similar.

I hope you all have a good weekend and I will be back on Monday with another post.

3 thoughts on “Healthy snack idea

Leave a Reply

