Rotorua New Zealand

Three Things To Do In Rotorua New Zealand

One of my favourite places to visit in New Zealand is a city called Rotorua. There are so many beautiful places in New Zealand that offer lots to do but Rotorua is a place that always holds a special place in my heart. Growing up it would be the place we would go quite often for family holidays so if I am ever travelling near there I always want to stop even if it’s just for a short amount of time.

There is a lot of geo thermal activity in Rotorua resulting in boiling mud pools, geysers and natural hot water pools. It is also a good place to learn about Maori culture. This attracts a lot of visitors meaning it is a very popular tourist spot. There is a lot of things to do with some being free and some you have to pay for. You can take a walk through the red wood forest, bungy jump, view the hot mud pools, go zorbing, visit a spa and so much more.

Whenever I visit Rotorua I like to do things that are free of charge so I have decided to write about a few things I did on a recent trip there.

Spending time at lake Rotorua.

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Lake Rotorua is situated close to the city centre and is a really beautiful place. We were staying pretty close to the lake and got told about an area where you can dig in the sand at the edge of the lake and make your own hot water pools. Warm water will come up and provide a nice spot to soak your feet. Some areas will be hotter than others so I recommend being careful when you first dip your toes in.

Rotorua Hot Pools

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I thought it was cool that you could have natural warm water coming out of the ground just steps away from the cold lake.

Looking at the hot mud pools and hot water pools.

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I always find it interesting to watch the mud boiling, bubbling up and steaming. I feel like my photos here don’t do it justice. The areas are fenced off to keep people safe and there is also a sulfur smell but I personally don’t mind it too much and find that you do get used to it.

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I’m not sure if these are called small lakes or pools of water but I think they are really pretty to look at.

Government Gardens.

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Government gardens is a public park that I enjoy going for a little walk around or driving though. It provides some good photo opportunities as does most of the city. There is also a museum but I haven’t been inside yet.

Have you ever been to Rotorua or do you have a place that you always enjoy visiting?

Love, Me

25 thoughts on “Three Things To Do In Rotorua New Zealand

Leave a Reply

