Adventure Time

Rotorua New Zealand

Photo by Continuing With M.E

As you all may know I have been wanting a change in scenery. I mentioned how I thought that the change of scenery I was after was more likely to happen from travelling somewhere. Travelling is something I have always wanted to do and while I have been able to travel to some places around New Zealand there is still a lot more I want to see and do. Ever since I posted that blog post about wanting a change ideas have been floating around about where I could go or what I could do. My family have been giving me ideas about different places I could go for a few days or saying how they too want to go away somewhere.

I have always liked Rotorua and I have been wanting to go back for a while. I can’t remember if someone had mentioned that I look at bus tickets or if I just decided to do that but the other day I found myself looking at them. I had been to get some brochures on Rotorua and when I got home I started looking up bus tickets. I had originally thought of going next year but somehow I ended up searching for November which isn’t that far away now. I had put in some dates and found tickets that were $1 each way. Mum asked if I wanted to go down to the information centre and book them straight away and I decided that for $1 why not.

When I got there I found out that while it was $1 for the tickets the timing was not the best. One ticket I wouldn’t arrive there until after 11pm and the one coming home I would be on the bus at around 6am and not be home until 5pm. The lady said that if I got the $27 ticket for coming home I wouldn’t have to get on the bus until around 8am but still get home at the same time. I said I would think about it as I hadn’t quite realised that the times were so bad. Since Mum was still busy there I decided to just use my phone to google different dates in November and see if I could find a ticket with a better time. The $1 fares don’t last long but I was able to find one that would arrive a little bit earlier. The lady at the information centre was great and was able to find me a ticket home on a different bus that would be at reasonable times and so I wouldn’t have to be on a bus for 10 hours. I ended up coming away with return bus tickets for around $30 which is great and I’m really happy about.

I was so excited and it had all happened pretty quickly. I haven’t been away by myself before apart from staying in a cabin by a beach about 20 minutes from where I live. So this is going to be my first ‘proper’ trip away. I have always thought it would be cool to travel somewhere on a bus and just carry my stuff in a back pack and explore a city while doing some tourist attractions. I am not sure how my M.E is going to be but I have given myself a reasonable amount of time and I’m not going to plan too much so that I can rest and do things at my own pace. I have also hopefully got a place to stay that is so close to most of the things I want to do or will need.

It will be such a new experience for me but I’m looking forward to it and hopefully it’s the first of many more trips.

Have you ever done something like this? I’d love to hear about it. Or if you have any tips for me.

Love, Me

Also if you want to share a link to one of your posts please check out my community page here.

8 thoughts on “Adventure Time

  1. Patrick says:

    Awesome. Enjoy it. Pace yourself. Prioritise things to make sure you can see the “best bits” (or rather the things you really want to see) and then see how much energy you have left to do things further down your list.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Debbie L says:

    How exciting! I’m a wanderlust but have never been able to do something like this by myself. I’ve always been with others….
    Keep your safety in mind, check in with family, let them know where you are, have someone to be accountable to where ever you are….and have FUN!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirstwrites says:

    My family member with ME is often exhausted before the holiday even starts, so my advice would be to take it easy in the weeks/ days leading up to the trip, allow plenty of time for packing and preparations and save your energy for when you get there. Have a brilliant time!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

