Getting A Facial At A Training College

As I mentioned briefly in my weekly roundup blog post, last Monday I went to get a facial at my local training college. I found it so nice and I thought I would write a bit more about it to share my experience. It was a really new thing for me and I went in not knowing what to expect. I didn’t get any photos but I hope I can describe what it was like.

I knew what part of the college I needed to go to and when you get there they have a reception and waiting room set up like you would have in any other beauty salon. I didn’t have long to wait before the person doing my facial came out to get me to take me to where I would actually get my facial. The first thing that I noticed when going into the room was that it looked like a hospital ward. I think I was a little shocked at first but then it didn’t really bother me. There was what looked like the curtains you see in a hospital separating each persons space and the top of the curtain was able to be looked through. I’m pretty sure that will be so the tutor can walk around and make sure everything is going well. Each student has a space with a spa bed and the things they needed. It was set up how you would expect in a beauty salon.

At the start of the facial I was asked some questions about my skin and my skincare routine and a few other general questions. Then I was left alone to get ready and get into the bed. I needed to have my neck and shoulder bare. Once I was ready the facial got started. It included having my face cleansed and then I had a steamer on my face for five minutes. I was asked first if I felt claustrophobic with having steam on my face and I said it was fine and I was ok with it. I was always checked on to make sure it was all ok. I also had a face, neck and shoulder massage and a face mask which was really nice. I was always told what was happening next and when products were being applied to my skin. It was really helpful for me as I can get frights quite easily but since I was told each step I knew what was happening.

I found the whole experience great and I would definitely go again. My college charged $10 for an hours long facial which is really good considering they are a lot more at beauty salons. I didn’t mind that they were training as I knew there would be a tutor there and it all felt very professional. If I had to chose a downside it would be the hospital feeling curtains but then that can’t really be helped and I wouldn’t want to be in an open room with no privacy. It wasn’t that it was a bad thing I just wasn’t expecting it and the curtains did actually work well.

Have you tried anything like this before? Do you get regular facials? I would love to hear about it.

Love, Me

Also if you would like to share a link to one of your blog posts please check out my community page here.

7 thoughts on “Getting A Facial At A Training College

  1. MjBee says:

    A friend of mine was studying beauty therapy and went in for a relaxation massage and facial. Really enjoyed it, we kept getting shhhh’d by the teacher though cos we were gasbagging so much. It was free and lovely and relaxing. Glad you enjoyed yours! Id love to get regular facials, buttttt I cant afford that shit lol I hold a lot of tension in my face so I self massage sometimes ! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda says:

    Thanks for writing this post! I have thought about a facial off and on over the years, but never thought about a beauty college. I shall put that on my list of things to do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

