Diy Lightbox

A few weeks ago I saw a picture for a diy lightbox. When I saw it I thought it looked like a good idea and thought having a lightbox would be good for taking photos. I have never used something like this before when taking photos and thought it would be a good opportunity to try it out. I looked at a few different pictures and videos and came up with this. I am yet to try it out with some lights but I plan to do that soon.

What I used

  • Cardboard box
  • Clear tape
  • Lunchwrap paper
  • Knife or scissors
  • Pen and ruler
Photo by Continuing With M.E

Photo by Continuing With M.E

After deciding what part I wanted to be the bottom I marked off where I wanted to cut out the windows which is on the top and both sides. I decided to make the marks one inch in.

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I used the stanley knife (be careful with this) and cut out the windows so that it looked like this.

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I then used three sheets of lunch wrap paper to cover each of the windows. I did each window separately and taped it down using the clear tape.

Photo by Continuing With M.E

Photo by Continuing With M.E

I then placed my sheet of white card inside curving it up the back so that there are no seams or hard lines. My bit of card was a bit too small and I will probably get one that will fit properly at some point.

When I go to use it I will use three lights or lamps and point them at each of the three windows placing what I want to take a photo of on the white card inside. I’m excited to start using it and am interested in how it will make my photos look using the lightbox.

Have you used anything like this before? I would love to hear your thoughts on it and any tips you may have.

Love, Me

6 thoughts on “Diy Lightbox

Leave a Reply

