How I Stay Positive While Living With A Chronic Illness

Living with a chronic illness can be hard at times and it can be very easy to let the new limitations get to you. I became ill when I was nearing the end of my teenager years when I was just starting to get out into the world as an adult. It can be a bit draining emotionally but I still think its important to stay as positive as I can. These are a few things that I find helpful personally.

Find something to distract myself.

Sometimes when I’m feeling a bit sad I like to put on a YouTube video to watch and distract myself. I really enjoy watching vlogs as I like to see what other people are getting up to. There are a few channels that I know will cheer me up once I start watching them. I am also able to rest while watching them so it doesn’t drain as much energy as other activities.

Get out of the house.

I find it good to get out of the house and to continue with my day if I can. Sometimes how I’m feeling will pass and my mood will be lifted. When I am able to get out and meet up with a friend it helps me realise that I can still do things and that I haven’t lost everything.

Allow myself to feel sad.

There are times when I am stuck at home and not really feeling the best so I just allow myself to feel sad and then the next day will try to be more positive. I usually find that after a nights sleep I will have a different outlook on things and will be feeling better.

It is different for everyone though as to what helps them feel better. Distracting myself does seem to help the most I think. I also find it helpful talking to my friend and sometimes it nice to just get things out. If you have any other tips for staying positive then please leave them below as I’m always interested in finding something new to help.

Love, Me

P.s other places to find me are Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

6 thoughts on “How I Stay Positive While Living With A Chronic Illness

  1. John says:

    I find staying busy with tasks and using the Internet as a big distraction are helpful when feeling blue. Letting your job consume you to stay busy may not be a good thing. Be well. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fiona says:

    I watch a lot of TV, too much really but again it’s a distraction! Now I’m crawling out of my latest relapse I can start to do a few more things around the house, in short bursts of course!
    I must admit, I cou,don’t live without my iPad and my dog!
    Much love. X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WanderLaur says:

    I’ve recently discovered the last strategy to be very helpful. It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep and a fresh start can do! I’ve always used writing as a strategy, too. Looks like you’re got an outlet for that. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

