Rotorua Markets

During my time in Rotorua there were three different markets held. I went to all three as I wanted to see what each one was like and what was the better one to go. They were all in different places and each one had something different to offer. I thought I would write a bit about each one and say what one I thought was the best. I know I would have found something like this helpful before going.

Thursday Night Market

12349552_732671650198318_806434089_o

Photo by Continuing With M.E

This one was by far my favourite and I want my own town to start doing this as well. It was held in town and they had blocked off a part of the street. It was just around the corner from where I was staying so didn’t take long for me to walk there. The market started properly at 5pm and went until about 9pm. Most of the stalls were selling food for dinner. There was sweet, savoury, vegan and raw options. They had a really good range of options so there was something for everyone.

Rotorua Night Market

Photo by Continuing With M.E

In the middle of the market they had seats and a few tables for people to sit down and eat their dinner. There was also a guy singing and playing guitar which was really nice to listen to. I think they have different people for the entertainment each week which is good. People went out with their families, partners or friends to have dinner and to enjoy some live music. I really enjoyed it and really want to go again next time I’m in Rotorua.

Saturday Morning Market

This market ended up being quite a walk away at Kuirau Park. I had an idea in my mind of what I thought it was going to be like and it was completely different. The stalls were fresh fruit and vegetables and a few food stalls that were selling things like dumplings, meat kebabs and similar items. The fresh fruit and vegetables would be good if you were local but there wasn’t really many stalls and nothing that I wanted. I probably spent less than 5 minutes looking around. It was nice to walk around the actual park though.

Sunday Morning Market

This market was what I had thought Saturday’s market would be like. It was down by the lake and didn’t take too long to walk to from my accommodation. The stalls were selling things like hats, sunglasses, jewellery, handmade items and second hand things. There was also two food trucks and it was bigger than the Saturday market. While I enjoyed looking around I don’t think I would go all the time as I feel like a lot of the things for sale would stay the same.

Overall the Thursday night market was by far my favourite and the one I want to go back to. The other two I have seen what they are like and I don’t really have any desire to go back.

Love, Me

One thought on “Rotorua Markets

Leave a Reply

