Life Updates

It has been a while since I last wrote a blog post and a lot has been happening in that time. There are some exciting things happening in my life at the moment and in the near future. Today I thought I would just write a little update post to catch you all up on what is happening and let you know what will be happening here in the future.

I can’t remember if I have mentioned it here before but for a while now I have been looking into different courses to do. At the end of last year I was looking at different colleges and the courses they had on offer as I wanted to do some sort of study this year to get some qualifications. I felt like I wanted to move forward and do something as I am managing my illness a bit better now. There wasn’t any courses that stood out to me though and I would always have doubts about starting one. For a while I stopped looking and just carried on with life.

A month or so ago for some reason I decided to start looking again. My brother had got a job and moved to a different city and I still had the desire to do a course and study more. There was a lawyer assistant course that I thought looked pretty good but I still had doubts. I couldn’t actually see myself doing that kind of work later on and there wasn’t a spark of excitement. The only good thing I thought about it was that the college was in the same city as my brother.

While I was looking into that course more I decided that I would search makeup courses. Just to see what there was. Makeup has always been something I have had an interest in and I was curious to see what was on offer. A few different courses came up in different cities and I felt myself getting excited about it. The more I looked into it the more I wanted to do something like that. There was one course that stood out. A bit part was because it was where my brother lived and I was also interested in how it looked and the kind of qualifications I could get from it. It was something I could see myself doing and enjoying.

As I was looking into it more online I noticed that it said the applications closed in February. It was already February when I was looking and I thought I was too late. I decided to ring up anyway to enquire even if it was for next year. It just so happened that for the course I wanted to do they were starting in May and that they still had spaces open in the course. The lady asked if I wanted to come in for an interview the following week. Now usually that would have been a problem as I live about 6 hours away from the campus but I had already had a trip planned for that week to visit my brother so it worked out perfect.

I went to have a look at the campus and have the interview type things and I got in! There is only about 12 students this year I think and the course goes for 8 months. At the end of it I will be a fully trained makeup artist with internationally recognized qualifications. We will be learning all things makeup from special effects to the makeup right through the different eras. There will be some retail papers as well which will be good to have. I honestly am so excited about it and can’t wait to start. They were understanding about my illness and said to not worry about that side of things and just be excited about the stuff we will be learning. So hearing them say that helped put my mind at ease about that part of things.

Everything else has been falling into place too. I have a place to stay with my friends while I am up there and there is a bus that takes me into town pretty close to the campus. There was a moment where I was so nervous about it all and was stressing out that I wouldn’t be able to do it but that soon passed and now I can’t wait. My bestfriend can see that it is a course that is perfect for me and everyone has been pretty supportive about it.

So my blog. The course is pretty intensive but I still want to keep up with my blog as much as I can. I know I will be pretty exhausted and I still don’t quite know what my fatigue and pain will be like. So I’m thinking of aiming my blog more around makeup and how I’m doing with the course. That way I can just include pictures or some of my work if I need to. I will also write about how I’m feeling and the experience. It is going to be a huge change for me moving out of home for the first time and even though I’ll be busy I think it will still be great to document it. Change is good and I know I need to keep moving.

Love, Me

9 thoughts on “Life Updates

  1. Miss Vanity Artistry says:

    That is so awesome, you’re going to have a fantastic time learning about makeup 🙂 With your blog, write down notes of what you did that, what you learned, could be a great beginners guide series or an insight into the makeup world. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oneta hayes says:

    Congratulations, ME. That sounds great and it will be so fulfilling for you to take on this new adventure. Yes, documenting your experience will be a wonderful way to keep us informed.

    Like

  3. To Arizona......and beyond says:

    It sounds like you’re really excited to start, documenting what you can is a great idea so you can look back on it and remember all the fun things you’ve done along the way. Good luck, I look forward to reading all about it when you have time!

    Like

  4. oneta hayes says:

    Hi, ME. I read a post from you just a little while ago and responded to it. This visit is because I am out to fulfill a goal of meeting my Blogger’s World neighbors. I enjoy our blogging relationship, and thank you for the visits you make my way also. I will continue to see you regularly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

